For middle and high school students who participate, Maryland History Day sparks critical thinking, and helps develop skills in research and analysis, writing, and public speaking.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
Building upon the achievements of Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the King Institute supports a broad range of educational activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired.
Learn about National History Day resources from the National Archives! Explore DocsTeach in support of your NHD project for this year's theme- Frontiers in History: People, Places, Ideas.
The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Welcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Welcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
A list of reputable web sites that contain primary sources from Ancient Civilizations. These websites can be difficult to search, but with patience and the use of good keywords you may find something useful.
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Primary sources enable the researcher to get as close as possible to what actually happened during an historical event or time period. They are not commentary about your topic, but are the topic you are commenting about.
At JMM, we tell stories of Jewish Maryland. Our exhibits share stories that will make your students question, laugh, think, and feel deeply – no matter who they are – because stories connect us as a community of learners.
Our engaging, experiential education programs offer something for everyone, either onsite at the Maryland Center for History and Culture, inside school classrooms, or out in the community.
The Room contains approximately 10,000 books and over 400 cubic feet of archival material including maps, newspapers, photographs, ledgers, manuscripts, ephemera, and a limited number of artifacts
Garrett, Allegany and Washington counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles and indexes, rare books and more.
The American Folklife Center (AFC) documents and shares the many expressions of human experience to inspire, revitalize, and perpetuate living cultural traditions.
Music, art concerned with combining vocal or instrumental sounds for beauty of form or emotional expression, usually according to cultural standards of rhythm, melody, and, in most Western music, harmony.
